MENU

Social Work Services

How Can We Help Patients and Their Families?

There are nine Social Workers available to Fox Chase Cancer Center patients and their families. Social Workers have an “MSW” (Master of Social Work) degree, which required them to complete two years of a graduate program in Social Work, after completing their college studies.

Life can change in a second
Social Workers are here to help

Oncology Social Workers are trained in how to help people deal with the many life changes that can result from having a chronic disease like cancer. Our Social Work team can help you with:

  • Distress in response to diagnosis and treatment
  • Difficulty in talking together as a family about how to deal with cancer
  • Counseling for you, your family and/or caregivers
  • Talking to children about a parent’s cancer
  • Impact of cancer on work, school, and finances
  • Managing the physical and emotional side effects of treatment such as hair loss, fatigue, depression, anxiety, etc.
  • Coping with advanced cancer, facing uncertainty, survivorship issues
  • Worsening prognosis and end of life discussions
  • Communicating with doctors, nurses and other medical care providers
  • Helping with advance health care directives such as a living will and medical power of attorney
  • Help with discharge planning if you are hospitalized
  • Navigating the healthcare system
  • Medication assistance programs
  • Determining if a support group would be helpful to you or your family
  • Finding supportive resources in your local community
  • Finding transportation to and from the hospital for treatment

Social Work services are free and confidential. Please call Social Work Services at 215-728-2668 for assistance and/or information. 

 

Social Work Team
 

 

Anjali Albanese, MSW, LSW  
Social Worker
215-728-2669
Anjali.Albanese@fccc.edu

Sheila Amrhein, MSW, LCSW  


Sheila Amrhein, MSW, LCSW
Social Worker
215-728-2853
Sheila.Amrhein@fccc.edu

Florence Bender, BSW  

Florence Bender, BSW
Social Worker
215-728-2617
Florence.Bender@fccc.edu

Lisa Etkins, MSS, LCSW, OSW-C  

Lisa Etkins, MSS, LCSW, OSW-C
Social Worker
215-728-2666
Lisa.Etkins@fccc.edu

Susan Haney, MSW, LCS  

Susan Haney, MSW, LCSW
Social Worker
215-728-2672
Susan.Haney@fccc.edu

 

Mark Itzen, MSW, LCSW
Social Worker
215-728-2921
Mark.Itzen@fccc.edu

Holly Riggs  

Holly Riggs, MSW, LSW
Social Worker
215-728-2936
Holly.Riggs@fccc.edu

JoAnne Rufo, MSW, LSW  

JoAnne Rufo, MSW, LSW
Social Worker
215-728-3017
JoAnne.Rufo@fccc.edu

Denise Young  

Denise Young, MS, LSW
Social Worker
215-728-2670
Denise.Young@fccc.edu

Connect with Fox Chase